Hello world!

Publishing one’s voice is both desirable and daunting. Tucked away in the recesses of my mind is a nagging desire to be heard, understood, and valued, a common impulse I’m sure. The attendant desire, equally nagging but more accurately described as fear, is that while this impulse may be common we don’t want the material to be common!

It is, therefore, with some trepidation, then, that I begin this journey of reinvention and necessary exposure. If one wants truly to be heard, then he must speak. To be uncommon, one must first risk the common!

I will speak in ensuing posts about several different topics of interest. First, I shall chronicle my efforts to revise and develop a manuscript entitled Devil’s Gut. The manuscript has undergone a first and second draft within the previous eighteen months, a vigorous wrestling match that reduced the original 204,000 word document to 83,000 words. My second topic of interest is the development of a documentary about a small southern high school in Aberdeen, NC. The school was torn down in 1963 and students consolidated into another facility compromised of six local high schools. Graduates of this former school still meet for reunions and have a permanent museum of artifacts. Events in town history inspired Devil’s Gut; it is my intent that more will follow. Thirdly, I am enchanted by the spoken word. My life in rehearsal halls and classrooms, working with actors, has instilled a deep respect and appreciation for the sensual experience of language, an experience often corrupted or tainted by technology. We have lost something vital.

My purpose is to reinvent me. I have no idea where the journey will take me; but, I am resolved to begin and discover where these nascent notions will lead.

2 responses to “Hello world!

Leave a comment